Tiered Workflow

What is Tiered Workflow?

Tiered Workflow is an automated process that links an event's tasks together so that they are completed in a pre-determined order. When Tiered Workflow is enabled, all of an event's tasks are grouped into "tiers," and only once all tasks within a tier are completed (assigned, approved, etc) will the system move on to the next tier. Tasks are still built upon event creation but lower-tier tasks remain "pending" until any higher-tier "active" tasks are completed. If a task is denied or cancelled, all downstream tasks will remain inactive.

Enabling Tiered Workflow

25Live’s System Settings includes a section to enable Tiered Workflow.

1. Go to the System Settings View, and Access the Blackout Management Section

More menu in the top navigation barImage: The More menu in the top navigation bar has a link to the System Settings view.

After logging into 25Live as an administrator or user with permissions to access System Settings, open the More menu in the top navigation bar.

System settings is located under the More menuImage: The System Settings link is in the More menu.

Use the menu link to go to the System Settings view, then continue to the Workflow Settings section using the link in the top row.

2. Toggle Tiered Workflow On

Image: Toggle the Use Tiered Workflow setting to Yes to turn on this setting.

In the Workflow Settings section, read the information about this type of workflow. Then, set the Use Tiered Workflow toggle to Yes. Use the Save button to save the setting.


There are four tier groups, to be completed in the following order:

Notification Policy Tasks → Location Approvals → Resource Approvals → Other Tasks 

More specifically, individual tasks are completed in this order:
Event Type Notification Policy tasks, Organization Notification Policy tasks, Location Assignment Policy tasks, Location Notification Policy tasks, Resource Assignment Policy tasks, Resource Notification Policy tasks, Event Requirement Notification Policy tasks


FYI—or "Notify Only"—tasks and To Do tasks exist outside of the Tiered Workflow and will not block other tasks.


Here, we can see that the first tier—Event Type and Organization Approvals—is active and can be acted on, while the Location Assignments and Approvals tier is inactive (pending), with no available actions.

Tiered workflow also features a progress bar at the top of the view that shows if each level is not yet done or completed. The number of items in the tier is also displayed.
Event Types and organization approvals in progress.

Tip: Pending

Clicking the "Pending" link on a task will open a modal that tells you which task types are blocking the pending task, as well as the list of users assigned to the pending task.

List of blocked task types and pending task assignees

In this example, Event Type and Organization Approvals have been completed, so now the Location Assignments and Approvals tier is active.

Event types and organization approvals completed. Location assignments and approvals in progress..

Warnings & Recommendations

Before enabling Tiered Workflow, consider the following:

  • Turning on Tiered Workflow will impact existing tasks.
  • Bulk editing tasks—such as approving location assignments—will override workflow tiers.
  • It is recommended that you review all of your “Approval Required” notification policies for organizations and event types before enabling Tiered Workflow. 
    • Any incomplete notification policy will block Assignment Policy tasks from being approved.
  • Turning off Tiered Workflow will revert your instance back to the standard format. You can toggle Tiered Workflow back and forth as needed without negative impact.