Managing Blackouts

Security Note: 

To access this feature, your 25Live user must have the security group permission to manage blackouts (Admin: 10.6 Edit Location Open/Close/Blackout Hours) as well as permission to edit the locations involved. See Object Security and Assignment Policy.

If you would like your permissions changed, contact your 25Live administrator.


Blackout Management in 25Live is located in the System Settings section and provides tools to:

  • View all existing blackouts with start dates within one year previous or one year from the current date
  • Create new blackouts or copy existing ones
  • Add repeating or non-repeating date patterns
  • Edit existing blackouts within +/- 365 days of the current date
  • Add notes with additional information about the blackout
  • Add locations to a blackout individually or using a location search
  • Add and remove locations from existing blackouts as-needed
  • Delete existing blackouts from all associated locations

Viewing Blackouts in Blackout Mangement

1. Go to the System Settings View, and Access the Blackout Management Section

More menu in the top navigation barImage: The More menu in the top navigation bar has a link to the System Settings view.

After logging into 25Live as an administrator or user with permissions to access System Settings (-1), open the More menu in the top navigation bar.

System settings is located under the More menuImage: The System Settings link is in the More menu.

Use the menu link to go to the System Settings view, then continue to the Blackout Management section.
System Settings Blackout Management sectionImage: The Blackout Management section is the System Settings.

2. Set the Date Range of Blackouts to View

Blackout Settings under Blackout Management in System SettingsImage: Blackout Settings under System Settings > Blackout Management.

Once created, you will see a table view of all of your existing blackouts including names and dates. 

2. Set the Date Range of Blackouts to View

Start and end date calendar picker Image: Click into the start date or end date calendar field to open the calendar picker to sort your blackout list.

The default view will show you blackouts within the current month. Use the fields to filter the range of blackouts in the view. You may choose dates up to 12 months in the past or 12 months in the future.

Please note that range you select will populate any blackouts with a start date that falls within the range. This is shown in the next image where the date range selected—December 17 through December 31—populates a blackout that starts within the range—on December 23—and ends outside of the range—on January 07. 

3. Show or Hide Columns

Blackout listImage: Existing blackouts are shown in a list as the default display in the Blackout Management section of System Settings.

        Use the Select Columns button to add additional columns:

  • Blackout (name)
  • Pattern
  • Start
  • End
  • Notes
  • Copy (button)
  • Edit (button)
  • Delete (button)

Creating, Copying, and Editing Blackouts

1. Go to the Blackout Management Section in System Settings

Find the link in the More menu to go to the System Settings view, then to the Blackout Management section.

Add Blackout buttonImage: Use the Add Blackout button to open the blackout creation form.

To create a new blackout, tap the Add Blackout button above the blackout table OR use the Copy button next to an existing blackout to begin the copying process.

To edit an existing blackout, tap the Edit button next to the blackout you'd like to update.

  • Note:  If your 25Live contact doesn't have editing rights to blackouts, you will see a View button instead of the Edit button for each item. Contact your 25Live Administrator if you need different permissions.
Tip: Check for Hidden Columns

If you don’t see the Edit button, Copy button, or other information you expect to see in the list of existing blackouts, use the Select Columns button to make sure all columns you wish to see are checked. You may also need to contact your 25Live Administrator.

2. Begin the Blackout With A Name and Initial Date

Type in a Blackout Name. This is an internal name used only for organization.

Create new blackout formImage: Fill out the Create New Blackout form fields.

Add a Start and End date and time span for the first occurrence of the blackout period. 

Note: Conflicts Are Not Checked

Blackout creation and editing does not need to check for conflicts for the dates and locations you add. Events already assigned during the blackout period are not affected.

3. Complete Repeating Occurrence Options

Pattern informationImage: Choose a repeating pattern and specify the pattern details. 

Use the Repeating Pattern button to open the Pattern Picker display.

Open the dropdown menu to choose the type of repeat for your event:

  • Does Not Repeat (will remove all previously selected or defined occurrences)
  • Ad hoc (can be selected on the calendar one by one)
  • Daily
  • Weekly
  • Monthly

Complete the options that appear for your chosen repeat pattern type.

Note: Blackouts Can Overlap

When adding dates and locations, you don’t need to worry about if there is already an existing blackout that might conflict. You may overlap blackout periods.

4. Add Notes to Your Blackout

Blackout notes fieldImage: The notes field allows you to add extra information about the blackout.

Use the Notes field to add additional information about the blackout.

5. Add Locations to Your Blackout

Scroll to select all locations in a large groupImage: The Add Locations options include a search, dropdown choice of saved searches, and quick action buttons

Use the Select Locations button to open the options view where you can:

  • Search by keyword
  • Choose from a list of saved searches from the filter dropdown
  • Use the quick action buttons to:
    • Filter by Only Favorites
    • Select All
      • To add more than the approximately 100 locations that display at one time in the view, be sure to scroll through all the locations before using Select All to add all locations in the results
    • Select None

Add as many locations as your blackout requires by checking boxes next to locations. After checking some locations, you can use the X near the search term to clear and enter a new search to add additional locations. Checked locations from all the searches will be added.

Use the Done button to save your choices.

You can repeat this step to add additional locations or remove some of your previous choices.

6. Save the Blackout

Use the Save button to save all your choices and add the blackout to your Series25 database.

Deleting an Existing Blackout

1. Go to the Blackout Management Section in System Settings

Find the link in the More menu to go to the System Settings view, then continue to the Blackout Management section.

2. Set the Date Range of Blackouts to View

Date range fieldsImage: The filter fields allow you to set the start and end dates of the viewing range.

The default view will show you blackouts within the current month. Use the fields to filter the range of blackouts in the view. You may choose dates up to 12 months in the past or 12 months in the future.

3. Use the Delete Button to Remove Any Listed Blackout

delete buttonImage: Use the Delete button next to the blackout you'd like to delete to remove it from 25Live.

Each of the lists of existing blackouts in your library has a button option to Delete.

Warning: The Delete Action is Immediate Without Confirmation

If you use the Delete button, the blackout is immediately deleted. No confirmation dialog appears to make sure you’re choosing the correct button. Consider carefully before deleting.

If you delete a group of blackouts for multiple locations in 25Live System Settings, it will delete only that blackout name for all the associated locations. Other blackouts for those locations will not be affected. 

Tip: Check for Hidden Columns

If you don’t see the Delete button or other information you expect to see in the list of existing blackouts, use the Select Columns button to make sure all columns you wish to see are checked. You may also need to contact your 25Live Administrator.